8th Edition: My first thoughts… Late!

Life threw a few giant curveballs my way, and we got a new edition of 40K in that time as well. But I’ve actually had the chance to get a few games in, including playing in a very small tournament that was kind of no fun at all. More on that later.

While we’ve just gotten our fifth Codex with Ad Mech, it still feels a little too early to know how this edition overall will be. But since we’re going to have codices (codicii? codexes?) and Chapter Approved by Xmas we should have a good idea how the rest of the releases and the game itself will turn out. I hope that with the annual release of Chapter Approved we’ll see the most level edition of 40K ever.

8th Edition has been out for a few months now, but I know my initial reaction on seeing dumb things like ‘conga lines’ was… Gives us tank shock back! Conga lines by no means are realistic, nor do they look cool. (Not that I expect 40K to be an entirely realistic game, but the visual of units stretched out from an objective to some sort of ‘buffer’ is silly. It is a shame that there’s no way other than straight firepower to wipe them out. I actually like vehicles being able to do something in the fight phase as well, but man… I’d like something to help deal with conga lines.

I’m also realizing that I’m definitely more of a ‘fluff’ or narrative player than a competetive one. It probably doesn’t help that none of the armies I play are very competetive.

It is tempting… So tempting to try and do some Death Guard due to having them in the Dark Imperium boxed and having Mortarion and an entirely different playstyle than anything I have… Tempting.

Although my favorite Chaos God is Tzeentch, I’m just not that into Thousand Sons. I could always wait though and go Emperor’s Children, they’d be pretty fun. But that’s all future speculation!

For now I need to deal with my existing armies…

1) Dark Angels – I have a lot of Dark Angels.
2) Eldar – Since their codex is up soon I’ll probably work on getting them playable.
3) Tau
4) Imperial Guard
5) Necrons
6) Dark Imperium/Dark Vengeance Chaos

Updates on all those and my WiP next…

Leave a comment